## Newfoundland and Labrador

Name of legislation	• Smoke-free Environment Act, 2005 (amended)
Date in force	• July 1 <sup>st</sup> , 2011
Workplaces	<ul> <li>Smoking prohibited in virtually all workplaces</li> <li>Smoking permitted, in accordance with the regulations, in employee designated smoking rooms at remote worksites, underground mining operations and marine installations or structures as defined in section 152 of the <i>Canada-Newfoundland Atlantic Accord Implementation Act</i></li> <li>Smoking permitted in DSRs by residents and inpatients of long-term care, psychiatric and other residential care facilities</li> <li>Smoking permitted by registered guests and their</li> </ul>
	invited guests in designated smoking hotel rooms
Restaurants	Smoking prohibited
Casinos, bingos, etc.	Smoking prohibited
Bars	Smoking prohibited
Public places	Smoking prohibited in all indoor public places
Outdoor provisions	<ul> <li>Smoking prohibited on all bar and restaurant patios</li> </ul>
Private motor vehicles	<ul> <li>Smoking prohibited in private motor vehicles with children under the age of 16 present.</li> </ul>
Provision for Municipalities	<ul> <li>Section 13(1) of the Smoke-free Environment Act allows municipalities to pass bylaws and the more restrictive provisions apply</li> </ul>
Summary	<ul> <li>Legislation much improved regarding protection in indoor workplaces but DSRs are still permitted in a very limited number of places.</li> <li>Legislation strong regarding outdoor protection—first jurisdiction in Canada to ban smoking on all outdoor patios. Legislation could be strengthened by including buffer zones around doorways, air intakes and windows that open.</li> <li>Legislation also improved with the prohibition on smoking in vehicles with children under the age of 16 present.</li> </ul>

## Notes

Newfoundland and Labrador (2011) became the 9<sup>th</sup> province/territory to adopt smokefree vehicle legislation, following Nova Scotia (2007), Yukon Territory (2008), Ontario (2008), British Columbia (2008), New Brunswick (2009), Prince Edward Island (2009), Manitoba (2009) and Saskatchewan (2010). Since then, Alberta (2012) has also followed suit.