## Provincial and Territorial Smoke-Free Legislation

## **Newfoundland and Labrador**

Name of legislation	Smoke-free Environment Act, 2005 (amended)
Date in force	• July 1, 2011
Workplaces	<ul> <li>Smoking prohibited in virtually all workplaces, but designated smoking rooms may be provided for employees if they meet ventilation requirements</li> <li>Smoking permitted in designated smoking rooms (DSRs) by residents and in-patients of long-term care, psychiatric and other residential care facilities</li> <li>Smoking permitted by registered guests and their invited guests in designated smoking hotel rooms</li> </ul>
Restaurants	Smoking prohibited
Bars	Smoking prohibited
Casinos, bingos, etc.	Smoking prohibited
Public places	Smoking prohibited in all indoor public places
Outdoor provisions	Smoking prohibited on all bar and restaurant patios
Private motor vehicles	• Smoking prohibited in private motor vehicles with children under the age of 16 present.
Provision for Municipalities	<ul> <li>Section 13(1) of the Smoke-free Environment Act allows municipalities to pass bylaws and the more restrictive provisions apply</li> <li>To date, only St. John's has taken advantage of this enabling legislation</li> </ul>
Summary	Legislation much improved regarding protection in indoor workplaces, but DSRs still permitted.
	Legislation also improved with the <b>prohibition of smoking</b> 1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.1.
	in vehicles with children under the age of 16 present.
	Legislation now lagging behind other provinces     regarding outdoor protection—first jurisdiction in
	Canada to ban smoking on all outdoor patios. However,
	smoking is still permitted in all other outdoor spaces.
	Legislation could be strengthened by including buffer zones
	around doorways, air intakes and windows that open, on
	playgrounds and recreational fields, etc.

## **Notes**

Newfoundland and Labrador (2011) became the 9<sup>th</sup> province/territory to adopt smoke-free vehicle legislation, following Nova Scotia (2007), Yukon Territory (2008), Ontario (2008), British Columbia (2008), New Brunswick (2009), Prince Edward Island (2009), Manitoba (2009) and Saskatchewan (2010). Since then, Alberta (2012) has also followed suit.